Bishop Gorman Catholic School Class of 2017 to graduate May 19

TYLER – Bishop Joseph E. Strickland will celebrate the Baccalaureate Mass for the Bishop T.K. Gorman Catholic School Class of 2017 Thursday, May 18, at 6 p.m. in the Chapel of Sts. Peter and Paul on the Gorman campus.

Commencement exercises will be Friday, May 19, at 6 p.m. in the University of Texas at Tyler Herrington Patriot Center.

The 60 students comprising the Class of 2017 have received more than $6.1 million in scholarship offers, and more than 185 acceptances to 100 colleges and universities across the country.

The graduating class is led by Justin Rhines, valedictorian, and Anna Pritchard, salutatorian.

Justin Thomas Rhines is a member of the National Honor Society, is a National Merit Commended Scholar and an AP Scholar, and was on the Principal’s Honor Roll at Gorman in grades 9-12. He has received numerous academic merit awards and awards for his achievements in band as a clarinetist. He was accepted to Georgia Institute of Technology, Purdue University, Rice University, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology, Texas A&M University, University of Texas at Austin, and University of Texas at Tyler. His scholarship offers total $746,396. He will attend Purdue University to major in Mechanical Engineering in the Honors College.

Anna Louise Pritchard graduates with the highest four-year GPA in the Class of 2017. She is a National Merit Commended Scholar, a member of the National Honor Society, an AP Scholar with Honors, and was on the Principal’s Honor Roll in grades 9-12. She has received numerous academic merit awards and awards for her achievements in track and field. She was accepted to Texas A& M University, Dwight Look College of Engineering, and Baylor University. She received scholarship offers totaling $102,000. She will attend Texas A&M University to major in Biomedical Engineering.

Honor graduates for the class include: Christine Arago, Kathleen Bochow, Madison Brady, Molly Breedlove, Jon Broom, Robert Ceccoli, Andrew Culpepper, Elizabeth Danly, Hannah Detwiler, Joseph Felix;

Also, Michael Galloway, Sara Goforth, Sean Goggans, Alonso Haro, Benjamin Harvey, Zhengnan Huang, Ellisa Jorgenson, Hyukjin Ko, Savannah LaRocca;

And Elizabeth McKnight, Claire Mittica, Shannon O’Neill, Hunter Parker, Hunter Pilgrim, Tait Reininger, Matthew Robertson, Jessica Smith, Xinyi Wang, and Aoran Zhang.

Also graduating are: Judah Bell, Caroline Callender, Jewan Cheon, Robert Chiasson, Patrick Richie, Sean-Riley Cunningham, Mahir Desai, Natalie Detwiler;

Also, Peter Faber, Bryan Franks, Nicolas Kennedy, Gwanghun Kong, Elizabeth Laine, Katherine Lauffer, Irene Medina, Rachel Mikita, Ethan Milton-Tunson, Reed Navara, Dennis Nwofia;

And Hayden Reynolds, Erin Roberts, Rebecca Ruesewald, Iraxy Serrano, Wyatt Smith, Saida Solis, Alexander Watts, Devon Whitmill, Chloe Woods, and Zhenyu Yin.