Nominations Open for 2017 Herzig Humanitarian Award, Catholic Institutions Now Eligible

The Diocese of Tyler is now accepting nominations for the 2017 Bishop Charles E. Herzig Humanitarian Award.

The award is named in honor of Bishop Herzig who led the diocese from its creation in 1987 until his death in 1991.

The annual award was instituted in 2007 by Bishop Álvaro Corrada, SJ, third Bishop of Tyler, to recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions within the Diocese of Tyler in seeking to promote human welfare. Those who receive the award demonstrate a great charitable love for the people of God and possess a life in the Church that has been marked by actions that have enabled individuals or families to receive basic human care.

This year, the award has been expanded to include Catholic institutions as eligible nominees, such as Catholic hospitals, Catholic schools, parishes, and organizations such as Catholic Charities and St. Vincent de Paul. The award will recognize institutions that exemplify the Gospel values of service, mercy, and charity in their communities in the name of Jesus Christ.

Bishop Joseph E. Strickland will present the medal depicting Bishop Herzig during the Memorial Mass of Bishop Charles E. Herzig, Sunday, Sept. 10, at 10 a.m. in the Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception.

Nominations can be made using the forms below, and are due to the diocese by Tuesday, Aug. 15. They can be submitted by email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., by fax to 903-534-1370 (ATTN: Office of the Chancellor), or by mail to Diocese of Tyler, Office of the Chancellor, 1015 ESE Loop 323, Tyler, TX 75701.

For more information, please contact the Office of Chancellor at 903-266-2154 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Download (PDF, 326KB)

Download (PDF, 218KB)

Download (PDF, 334KB)


Download (PDF, 225KB)

Previous recipients of the award are:

2016 – George Cronin and Louis Owen+
2015 – Danny and Kelly Jackman and Father Harold Paulsen
2014 – Margie Benge and Carolyn Richbourg+
2013 – Casimira Chavez, Conradita Sanchez, and Joe Keenan+
2012 – Daisy Black
2011 – Zeno Bachmer
2010 – Connie Shipp
2009 – Ann Rice
2008 – Mary Germany
2007 – Shawn Pickett