Bishop to Present Herzig Award on Sunday

Bishop Joseph Strickland will present the annual Bishop Charles E. Herzig Humanitarian Award on Sunday, Sept. 7, during the 10 a.m. Holy Mass at the Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception in Tyler.  

The award is named in honor of Herzig who led the diocese from its creation in 1987 until his death in 1991.

The award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions within the Diocese of Tyler in seeking to promote human welfare. Those who receive the award demonstrate a great charitable love for the people of God and posses a life in the Church has been marked by actions that have enabled individuals or families to receive basic human care.

Bishop Herzig entered eternal life on Sept. 7, 1991, and the award is annually presented on the Sunday nearest this day. Members of the Herzig family are guests at the event. 

Herzig was ordained a priest in 1955 and served in the Diocese of San Antonio until being named Bishop of Tyler by Pope St. John Paul II.

Nominees for the 2014 award are Margie Benge (Jacksonville), Patrick Quenneville (Lindale), Thomas & Carolyn Marty (Lindale), Immagean Kelly (Holly Lake Ranch), Rose Ward (Lufkin), Ken Mings (Canton), Fr. Harold Paulsen (Palestine), Carolyn Richbourg + (Tyler), Irmagard Barker (Flint), Julia Tucker (Rusk), Pete Mendolia (Tyler), Mary McCarley (Nacogdoches), Tom Mittler (Longview), Rosalind Keith (Tyler), Linda Osburn (Henderson), Lucy Ward (Longview), and George Cronin (Tyler).

Previous recipients of the award include:

2013 – Casimira Chavez, Conradita Sanchez and Joe Keenan (posthumous)
2012 – Daisy Black
2011 – Zeno Bachmer
2010 – Connie Shipp
2009 – Ann Rice
2008 – Mary Germany
2007 – Shawn Pickett