Nominations Open for Herzig Award

The Diocese of Tyler is now accepting nominations for the 2015 Bishop Charles E. Herzig Humanitarian Award, Father Hank Lanik, chancellor of the diocese, has announced.

The award is named in honor of Bishop Herzig who led the diocese from its creation in 1987 until his death in 1991.

The annual award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions within the Diocese of Tyler in seeking to promote human welfare. Those who receive the award demonstrate a great charitable love for the people of God and posses a life in the Church has been marked by actions that have enabled individuals or families to receive basic human care.

The award will be presented at the 10 a.m. Mass at the Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception on Sunday, September 13.

Nominations can be made using this form, and must be submitted to the Chancellor’s Office at the diocese by August 30, 2015.

Previous recipients of the award include:

2014 – Margie Benge and Carolyn Richbourg+
2013 – Casimira Chavez, Conradita Sanchez and Joe Keenan+
2012 – Daisy Black
2011 – Zeno Bachmer
2010 – Connie Shipp
2009 – Ann Rice
2008 – Mary Germany
2007 – Shawn Pickett

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »