Nominations Open for 2016 Herzig Award

The Diocese of Tyler is now accepting nominations for the 2016 Bishop Charles E. Herzig Humanitarian Award.

The award is named in honor of Bishop Herzig who led the diocese from its creation in 1987 until his death in 1991.

The annual award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions within the Diocese of Tyler in seeking to promote human welfare. Those who receive the award demonstrate a great charitable love for the people of God and posses a life in the Church has been marked by actions that have enabled individuals or families to receive basic human care.

The award will be presented at the 10 a.m. Mass at the Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception on Sunday, Sept. 11.

Nominations can be made using the form at this link, and are due to the diocese by Thursday, Sept. 1.

Previous recipients of the award are:

2015 – Danny & Kelly Jackman and Father Harold Paulsen
2014 – Margie Benge and Carolyn Richbourg+
2013 – Casimira Chavez, Conradita Sanchez and Joe Keenan+
2012 – Daisy Black
2011 – Zeno Bachmer
2010 – Connie Shipp
2009 – Ann Rice
2008 – Mary Germany
2007 – Shawn Pickett

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »