Herzig Award to be Presented Sunday at Cathedral

Bishop Joseph E. Strickland will present the annual Bishop Charles E. Herzig Humanitarian Award on Sunday, Sept. 11, during the 10 a.m. Holy Mass at the Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception in Tyler.

The award is named in honor of Herzig who led the diocese from its creation in 1987 until his death in 1991.

The award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions within the Diocese of Tyler in seeking to promote human welfare. Those who receive the award demonstrate a great charitable love for the people of God and posses a life in the Church has been marked by actions that have enabled individuals or families to receive basic human care.

Bishop Herzig died on Sept. 7, 1991, after a long battle with cancer, and the award is annually presented on the Sunday nearest this day. Members of the Herzig family are guests at the event.

Herzig was ordained a priest in 1955 and served in the Diocese of San Antonio until being named Bishop of Tyler by Pope St. John Paul II.

Nominees for the 2016 award are Louis Owen (deceased) of Tyler, George Cronin of Tyler, Tom Mittler of Longview, Jim Franz of Tyler, Lucille Cook of Whitehouse, Lorrie Aaulnd of Flint, and Tiare McGee of Athens.

Previous recipients of the award include:

2015 – Dr. Danny and Kelly Jackman, Father Harold Paulsen
2014 – Margie Benge and Carolyn Richbourg+
2013 – Casimira Chavez, Conradita Sanchez and Joe Keenan (posthumous)
2012 – Daisy Black
2011 – Zeno Bachmer
2010 – Connie Shipp
2009 – Ann Rice
2008 – Mary Germany
2007 – Shawn Pickett

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »