Bishop Joseph Strickland presented the annual Bishop Charles E. Herzig Humanitarian Award to CHRISTUS Mother Frances Hospital in Tyler during Mass at the Cathedral of the Immaculate on Sunday, Sept. 14.

The physicians, nurses, and health professionals of the hospital were recognized for extending the healing ministry of Jesus Christ to the East Texas community during the COVID-19 pandemic. Chris Glenney, CEO of CHRISTUS Northeast Texas Region, Jason Proctor, President of CHRISTUS Mother Frances Hospital, Any Navarro, Vice President of Mission Integration for CHRUSTIS Trinity Mother Frances Health System, and Sister Malgorzata Majszczyk accepted the award on behalf of the hospital.

The award is named in honor of Herzig who led the diocese from its creation in 1987 until his death in 1991. It award recognizes individuals and groups who have made outstanding contributions within the Diocese of Tyler in seeking to promote human welfare. Those who receive the award demonstrate a great charitable love for the people of God and posses a life in the Church marked by actions that have enabled individuals or families to receive basic human care.

Bishop Herzig died on Sept. 7, 1991, and the award is annually presented on the Sunday nearest this day. Herzig was ordained a priest in 1955 and served in the Diocese of San Antonio until being named Bishop of Tyler by Pope St. John Paul II.

Previous recipients of the award include:

2019 – Feed My Lambs Soup Kitchen Volunteers and St. Veronica’s Compassionate Sewers
2018 – Maria Crossman (Tyler)
2017 – Tom Mittler (Longview) and St. Vincent de Paul Society (Tyler)
2016 – George Cronin (Tyler) and Louis Owen (+ Tyler).
2015 – Father Harold Paulsen (+ Palestine) and Dan and Kelly Jackman (Tyler)
2014 – Margie Bengie and Carolyn Richbourg (+ Tyler)
2013 – Casimira Chavez, Conradita Sanchez, and Joe Keenan (+ Malakoff)
2012 – Daisy Black
2011 – Zeno Bachmer
2010 – Connie Shipp
2009 – Ann Rice
2008 – Mary Germany
2007 – Shawn Pickett (Tyler)