Bishop Joseph E. Strickland will present the 2017 Bishop Charles E. Herzig Humanitarian Award during the Memorial Mass of Bishop Charles E. Herzig, Sunday, Sept. 10, at 10 a.m. in the Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception.

The award recognizes individuals and institutions that have made outstanding contributions within the Diocese of Tyler in seeking to promote human welfare. Those who receive the award demonstrate a great charitable love for the people of God and possess a life in the Church that has been marked by actions that have enabled individuals or families to receive basic human care.

The award was instituted in 2007 by Bishop Álvaro Corrada, SJ, third Bishop of Tyler, and is named in honor of Bishop Herzig who led the diocese from its creation in 1987 until his death in 1991.

This year, the award was expanded to include Catholic institutions as eligible nominees, such as Catholic hospitals, Catholic schools, parishes, and organizations such as Catholic Charities and St. Vincent de Paul. Nominated institutions exemplify the Gospel values of service, mercy, and charity in their communities in the name of Jesus Christ.

Previous recipients of the award are:

2016 – George Cronin and Louis Owen

2015 – Danny and Kelly Jackman and Father Harold Paulsen
2014 – Margie Benge and Carolyn Richbourg
2013 – Casimira Chavez, Conradita Sanchez, and Joe Keenan
2012 – Daisy Black
2011 – Zeno Bachmer
2010 – Connie Shipp
2009 – Ann Rice
2008 – Mary Germany
2007 – Shawn Pickett